Meet Our Instructor: Winter ’17

Amie Pilgrim amie

What is your professional/educational background?

I completed my degree in Second Language Teaching and Psychology at the University of Ottawa in 2006. I then spent three years teaching English in Okinawa, Japan. I have since completed my Education degree in Primary, Junior and Intermediate.

What compelled you to become an ESL teacher?

I always knew I wanted to teach English, but it was an instant match when I discovered the program at Ottawa U. I loved the opportunities to meet people from around the world and give them an enriching and mutually beneficial educational experience.

How long have you been teaching at QSoE? Where did you teach prior to QSoE?

I have only been at the QSoE since the summer of 2016 when I started with the QBridge Program! Prior to that I was on maternity leave from the Limestone District School Board.

What do you love about teaching, or QSoE?

As a lifelong learner, I find that my work at the School of English allows me many opportunities to grow not only as a teacher, but as a global citizen. I believe that teaching goes beyond the classroom and that my students take the lessons and the experiences, and they too grow… You never truly know how far your reach is with teaching at the School of English.

What is your favourite aspect of your job?

Meeting and working with so many people from all over the world. Students, staff … other teachers… they all bring so much passion and creativity to QSoE. Every session is a new and exciting adventure, as well as an opportunity to connect with others and bring out the best in myself.

What do you like to do in your free time? amie 3

Nowadays, I spend a lot of time with my family; my son, Coulson, is a year and half now. My husband and I play softball every summer, and I am an avid photographer in my free time! We also try to make a point of getting out in nature a few times each season for a hike.

Which countries have you visited? What do you enjoy about being in other countries (could give a specific example from one country visited)?

I loved my time in Japan. I have so many friends that I have kept in touch with from the three years spent there. I loved experiencing the culture through karate classes, cooking school, travel, food and various Okinawan art experiences including pottery.

I have also travelled to South Korea, UAE, Qatar, France, England, and Switzerland.

amie 2Name a country you would love to visit – why do you want to visit this place?

My husband and I are really hoping to make it to Costa Rica some day! We love hiking and being in nature. I am also planning to take my family to Japan in 2020 for the Olympics and to show off where I lived in Okinawa years ago!

What are 1 or 2 things you love/find unique/admire about Canada?

I love the nature and picturesque landscapes. We often go hiking at Frontenac Park, Lemoines Point and various trails around town.

What is one thing you think is really cool about Kingston?

I have a huge soft spot in my heart for the Frontenac County Schools Museum up in Barriefield! I was a summer student there for a couple years, and now I volunteer as their social media and newsletter person. Truly a little gem when it comes to cultural heritage in and around Kingston.

Comment

