Socio-Cultural Fun with Alicia

Hi! My name is Alicia and I am a fourth year Psychology student at Queen`s University. I have been a socio-cultural monitor at Queen’s School of English for almost one year. cookiesI am part of QSoE’s socio-cultural team.  Our job is to create opportunities for students to have fun together outside of the classroom. As a monitor, I have a lot of different responsibilities. One of them is facilitating discussion classes. During discussion class, students discuss different topics. I like facilitating discussion classes because it helps students to practice their spoken English in a more casual setting. We even play games sometimes! I also lead activities with the students, like sports or card games. Cooking and baking activities are my favourite because we all eat, dance and talk — almost like a party! Often we go on weekend trips to places like Toronto and Montreal. When we go on trips, it is my responsibility to make sure students are safe and having a good time. My favourite trip is when we go to Canada’s Wonderland. Canada’s Wonderland is a big amusement park with games, rollercoasters, and a water park. wonderlandOutside of my responsibilities, most of my time as a monitor is spent having a good time with the students – we always have the funniest and silliest conversations. I enjoy helping students in any way that I can. I really love my job because I get to make friends with people from all over the world. Learn more about our socio-cultural program and check out our activities calendar: http://queensu.ca/qsoe/activities.

Comment

