Tips for Success!

Hello, my name is Carolyn! Some of you may know me as your socio-cultural monitor this Carolynsession. I have also been working at Queen’s School of English (QSoE) for the past 3 years as a Marketing Assistant while studying full-time at Queen’s. I will be graduating at the beginning of June with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) degree in English Literature and Political studies. While my degree is a proud accomplishment, I cannot separate my Queen’s experience from my time spent working at QSoE. QSoE is more than a job, it is an amazing opportunity to meet people from all over the world, learn about their cultures and help make their study abroad dreams come true. With my degree now complete and my employment at QSoE concluding at the end of the summer, I have compiled a list of things I have learned over the years at Queen’s and would like to share them with the QSoE and Queen’s students.

  1. Don’t be afraid to challenge yourself. Step outside your comfort zone and remember to have some fun!
  2. Choose your close friends wisely and keep a large group of acquaintances (you never know where your connections will lead you).
  3. Before moving in with friends (as housemates) make a list of rules to follow and don’t be afraid to reinforce them.
  4. Don’t forget to spend time for yourself. School is stressful, but your mental and physical health will always be more important.
  5. Grades and test scores are not a reflection of the quality of your character.
  6. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. This may be from a professor, friend, or a counselor (student advisor for QSoE students). Asking for help doesn’t mean you are weak, but rather that you are strong enough to realize that asking for help will get you further in your journey.
  7. Call home often to remind your family that you are doing well. Often I would be too busy to talk to my family on the phone, but I realized that it’s important to make time for those who love you.
  8. The best nights are the ones where you are up late laughing with your friends. One of my favourite memories at University was laughing with my friends until 4am (luckily, I didn’t have class the next day).
  9. Sleep is a luxury. Often, you will barely get enough to stay awake in your 8:30am classes. Sometimes, you will sleep through your alarm clock. It has happened to me and now I set 2 alarms every night.
  10. Set goals for yourself but don’t feel defeated if you don’t obtain them. I found it helpful to write many “to-do” lists. It’s the most satisfying feeling when you cross items off the list!
2 thoughts on “Tips for Success!

Comment

